Weird Wonder - Amanda P.'s blog

Postcard from a Campaign Ending, and Wrapping up 2023

Last week, my three-year fantasy-space campaign came to an end. For the past three years I've been running four of my friends through a homebrew campaign world we built together based on Dune, goofs, MLMs, Old Man's War, the concept of mind control via tooth fillings, and so much more.

They battled against an invasion of ancient Planar Voyagers (Illithids) who sought to bring back into subjugation the Warforged clockwork moon colony ship world of Mechanus. This campaign embodied my love of the fashion aesthetics of the 1970s (up to 1981 at a push) complete with a ship chef named Kruk the Kobold with a penchant for lengthy caftans. It was a 5E campaign and while I loved the story we told together I look forward to running many other systems. I think I bit off a lot for my first campaign which is great but I'm looking forward to being slightly more restrained.

This game has been a total gift and I feel lucky to have had such a resounding success for my first campaign ever. Games are about sharing creativity and love with friends to me and I feel so blessed that we got to do that story together for three years.

How did 2023 go?

This has been a busy year. I've worked hard on Resonant, a third-party Mothership adventure I'll be publishing with Space Penguin Ink in early 2024. I've written my next Tale of the Tannic Woods adventure, Orestruck! which will be coming out eventually and is currently in its first playthrough with a wonderful table of folks. I'm playtesting it in play-by-post first and then will be running it as part of my next campaign. I did 6 months of Dungeon 23 building a new mini-setting before totally burning out on it and getting more excited about other ideas.

In terms of playing games, I ran Cairn 2E a lot as well as playing in Risus, Pathfinder 2E, and Blades in the Dark.

I also got to meet my buds Yochai and Derek in person at PAXU!

Mobile Suit Gundam: the Witch from Mercury stuck the landing.

Overall, a banner year.

What's coming in 2024

May All Blessings Find Their Way to You, I'm Wishing It

#Resonant #roleplaying game #rpg #ttrpg