Weird Wonder - Amanda P.'s blog

Thoughts on Outsiders and Lesser Gods

Something I think about a lot when I'm writing is the logic that grounds the location and individuals' relationships with one another. I tend to employ fairy tale logic quite often, by which I mean things like:

  1. Life does not become challenging when one matures into adulthood. Impossible existential challenges face the very young.

  2. Not everything needs a scientific grounding. The seemingly impossible just happens. It does not need to be categorized, itemized, filtered and sorted into a grounded, understandable reality.

  3. The challenges both internal and external are deeply relatable and grounded in the fears, tragedies and struggles of a person's life but tied into the fantastical.

  4. There are things and figures beyond our understanding that have desires that are beyond our own. Our morality is not theirs.

I am not a folklorist and I don't pretend to be, but the idea of Outsiders such as Fey or Faerie are something I'm thinking about a lot right now as I work on a new adventure.

I read a book called the Raven Tower by Ann Leckie, and so much of it is about deities, what becomes a deity, how one can be born, exploited, or forgotten, and how their actions deeply trouble the mere humans that exist in their shadow. All of these things dwell and churn in my mind. So much of what I want to consider and include in my adventures is things that are profoundly unexplainable, but I don't think the thing beyond our ken must always be frightening like Lovecraftian horror or some of the stranger, darker tales of Roman Catholic saints and martyrs.

I enjoy the idea of the Outsider that inspires both fear and worshipful love in equal measure in stories, that requires a hefty cost of its followers, that remembers debts long beyond human understanding.